Bookmark and Share

At the top of their class

Queens is the only school in the state to boast five N.C. Professors of the Year winners among its outstanding faculty. 

Drs. Dick Goode, Charles Hadley, Reed Perkins, Charles Reed and Bob Whalen have each earned the prestigious honor from CASE and The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

"We are so proud to see these outstanding educators get recognition on a state and national level for the many ways in which they have positively influenced the lives and careers of students," said Queens President Dr. Pamela Davies.

Since 1981 the U.S. Professors of the Year program has saluted the most outstanding undergraduate instructors in the country.  Sponsored by CASE and The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, it is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring.

All undergraduate teachers in the United States, of any academic rank at any type of undergraduate institution, are eligible for the award.  Entries are judged by top U.S. educators and other active participants in education.

The awards specifically recognize excellence in the following areas: impact on and involvement with undergraduate students; scholarly approach to teaching and learning; contribution to undergraduate education in the institution, community and profession; and support from colleagues and current and former undergraduate students.
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Queens Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube
Latest Tweet