Claudia Rankine

  • Instructor , MFA Program, Poetry
  • College of Arts and Sciences

Claudia Rankine is the author of four collections of poetry, "Don't Let Me Be Lonely" (Greywolf Press, 2004), "Plot" (Grove/Atlantic, 2001), "The End Of The Alphabet" (Grove/Atlantic, 1998), and "Nothing in Nature Is Private" (Cleveland State University Poetry Press, 1995). Well known for her experimental multi-genre writing, Rankine fuses the lyric, the essay, and the visual in "Don't Let Me Be Lonely," a politically and morally fierce examination of solitude in the rapacious and media-driven assault on selfhood that is contemporary America. She is co-editor, with Julia Spahr, of "American Women Poets in the 21st Century: Where Lyric Meets Language," and her work has been published in numerous journals and is included in several anthologies. A 2005 recipient of the James Merrill Fellowship from the Academy of American Poetry for distinguished poetic achievement,  she also teaches at Pomona College.

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Latest Tweet