Bookmark and Share

Carolinas Entrepreneur Hall of Fame


(L to R) Dean of the McColl School of Business, Dr. Rick Mathieu, 2015 Carolinas Entrepreneur Hall of Fame inductee Patricia Rodgers, President Pamela Davies, 2015 Carolinas Entrepreneur Hall of Fame inductee David H. Jones and ELC Board Chair Dan Roselli.

The McColl School of Business at Queens University of Charlotte, along with the Entrepreneurial Leadership Circle, proudly established the Carolinas Entrepreneur Hall of Fame in July 2010 to honor the individuals whose legacies still shape today's business and economy throughout the Carolinas and beyond. The McColl School has a dedication to serve those who strive to become highly competent leaders who understand the importance of character and are committed to their communities. The Hall of Fame gives the School and the University the opportunity to thank the entrepreneurs who have made such lasting contributions and laid the groundwork for the major business sectors in our region.

The membership criteria, which was established by the selection committee, includes:

  • Laureate can be founder or subsequent entrepreneurial leader
  • Induction into Hall of Fame can be during active leadership role, after retirement or posthumously
  • Business founded or led by laureate must have minimum 10-year track record and must have positively impacted the community it serves
  • Laureate must, personally, have contributed to the greater good of the Carolinas

Class of 2015

  • Charles A. Cannon (1892-1971) of Cannon Mills
  • David H. Jones of Peak 10
  • Patricia and B.D. Rodgers (1924-2014) of Rodgers Builders

Class of 2014

  • Hugh L. McColl, Jr. of Bank of America
  • O. Temple Sloan, Jr. of General Parts International, Inc.
  • Craig Wall, Sr. and Craig Wall, Jr. of Canal Industries

Class of 2013

  • Joe L. Dudley, Sr. and Eunice M. Dudley of Dudley Products, Inc.
  • Francis M Hipp (1911-1995) of Liberty Corporation
  • Charles M Shelton and R. Edwin Shelton of The Shelton Companies

Class of 2012

  • George Dean Johnson, Jr., Johnson Management
  • Ambassador Bonnie McElveen-Hunter, Pace Communications
  • Joan & Robert Zimmerman, Southern Shows, Inc.

Class of 2011

  • Herman Blumenthal, Radiator Specialty and North Carolina Blumenthal Performing Arts Center
  • Wayland H. Cato, Jr., The Cato Corporation
  • Dr. Jim Goodnight, SAS

Class of 2010

  • Ralph Ketner, Food Lion
  • Leon Levine, Family Dollar Stores
  • Jerry Richardson, Spartan Foods and the Carolina Panthers

Founding Class

  • William Henry Belk, 1862-1952, Belk, Inc.
  • James Edgar Broyhill, 1892-1988, Broyhill Furniture Industries
  • Thomas H. Davis, 1918-1999, Piedmont Airlines
  • James B. Duke, 1856-1925, Duke Power Co.
  • R.J. Reynolds, 1850-1918, R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Company
  • Leroy Springs, 1861-1931, Springs Cotton Mills

The selection committee for the Carolinas Entrepreneur Hall of Fame consists of entrepreneurs, business leaders and historians representative of both North Carolina and South Carolina:

  • Former N.C. Governor Jim Martin
  • Fritz Hamer, curator of published materials, South Carolina Library, USC - Columbia
  • Joan H. Zimmerman, founder of Southern Shows, Inc.
  • Lisa Bell, owner and chief creative officer of Tivoli Partners
  • Terry Broderick, former dean of of the McColl School of Business
  • Ron Shiffler, former dean of the McColl School of Business
  • Carlos Evans, executive vice president, Wells Fargo, retired
  • McColl School Facebook
  • YouTube
  • McColl School Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Latest Tweet