Bookmark and Share

Past Speakers

The BB&T Distinguished Leaders in Action Lecture series enables McColl School students to interact with and learn from a diverse spectrum of recognized business and community leaders. These speakers integrate business knowledge and leadership skills, focusing on competence, character and commitment to community.

Leaders in Action Past Speakers 


Carl S. Armato                 President & CEO, Novant Health
Michael Marsicano  President & CEO, Foudation for the Carolinas
Steve Clifford                                                       Head Coach, Charlotte Hornets
Heath Byrd Executive Vice President & CFO, Sonic Automotive

Charlotte Hornets' Executive Team                     
John Ferriola CEO, Nucor
Ann Clark Superintendent, Charlotte Mecklenberg School System
Jeff Brown CEO, Ally

Laura Schulte President, Wells Fargo's Eastern Community Bank
Kyle O'Brien Executive VP of Sales, Chobani
Christopher Kearney                                           Chairman, President and CEO, SPX


Fred Whitfield President and COO, Charlotte Bobcats
Michael McGuire National Managing Partner of Indsutry and Market Development, Grant Thornton LLP
John Silvia Managing Director and Chief Economist, Wells Fargo
Ann Caulkins President, The Charlotte Observer

Tom Skains Chairman, President and CEO: Piedmont Natural Gas
Ric Elias CEO and Co-Founder: Red Ventures
M.C. Andrews Former Special Assistant to the President and Director of White House Office of Global Communications
Shannon McFayden Leadership Consultant and Civic Leader
C. Howard Nye President and CEO: Martin Marietta Materials
Peter Gorman SVP of Education Services: News Corporation and former Superintendent: Charlotte- Mecklenburg Schools


Harry Jones County Manager: Mecklenburg County
Allan McArtor Chairman & CEO: Airbus Americas
Ralph Ketner Former Chairman & Co-Founder: Food Lion
Catherine Bessant Global Technology and Operations: Bank of America
Michael Morris Chairman & CEO: American Electric Power
Frank Leistner Chief Knowledge Officer: SAS Institute


John Allison Chairman of the Board: BB&T
Kevin Henry Senior Vice President of Human Resources: Coca-Cola Consolidated, Inc.
Doug Parker CEO: USAirways, Corp.
Gary Lancaster Director, Bank of America Account for IBM
David Singer CEO: Lance, Inc. 
Jane McIntyre Executive Director: United Way of the Central Carolinas


Herb Henkel Chairman, President & CEO: Ingersoll-Rand
Dr. Jack Caravelli Former Senior Advisor to the Dept. of Energy's Office of Plans and Policy
Ronee Hagen CEO: Polymer Group, Inc.
Jim Morgan President & CEO Krispy Kreme Doughnuts,  Inc.
Ellen Ruff President, Office of Nuclear Dev.: Duke Energy
Chuck Raymond Chairman, President & CEO: Horizon Lines
Dr. Patrick Graham President & CEO: Urban Leagues of the Central Carolinas


Rodrigo Jordan President, Vertical S.A. / Chairman: Chilean National Foundation for the Alleviation of Poverty
Robert Niblock Chairman & CEO: Lowe's Companies
Ken Lewis & Dennis Thompson Chairman, President and CEO: Bank of America (Lewis) / Restaurateur & Entrepreneur (Thompson)
Dee Dixon & Joan Zimmerman Founder & CEO: Pride Magazine & Pride Communications (Dixon) / Founder & CEO: Southern Shows, Inc. (Zimmerman)
Reggie Davis  Eastern Banking Group Executive, Wachovia Corporation


Kenny Moore Director of Human Resources: KeySpan Corporation
Sue Myrick NC Congresswoman
Robert Foglesong President: Mississippi State University
Ernest Schaub President & CFO: EnPro Industries, Inc.
Lee Keesler President & CEO: Arts and Science Council


John Allison Chairman & CEO: BB&T
Linda Hudson President: General Dynamics
Tim Belk Chairman & CEO: Belk, Inc.
Ruth Shaw President & CEO: Duke Power Company
Gary Green President & CEO: Compass Group NA Division
George Battle, Bishop AME Zion Church
Lionel Nowell Senior VP & Treasurer


Herb Baum President & CEO: Dial Corporation
Jerry Richardson Founder & Owner: Carolina Pathers
Marshall Larsen Chairman, President & CEO: Goodrich Corporation
Kathryn Sullivan President & CEO: COSI Columbus
Howard Levine Chairman, President & CEO: Family Dollar Stores, Inc.
Dona Young Chairman, President & CEO: The Phoenix Companies, Inc.


Ken Thompson Chairman, President & CEO: Wachovia Corporation
Bernard Kasriel Vice Chairman & CEO: Lafarge Corporation
Dr. Thomas W. Currie Dean: Union Theological Seminary
Pat Mitchell President & CEO: PBS
John Blystone Chairman, President & CEO: SPX Corporation
Clayton Daley CFP: Proctor & Gamble


Bill Boyd CEO: Muzak, LLC
Bob Tillman Chairman & CEO: Lowe's Companies, Inc.
Dan DiMicco CEO: Nucor Corporation
Dick Spangler, Jr. President Emeritus: UNC / Chairman: C.D. Spangler Construction Company
LeRoy Mayne Director: Boy Scouts of America
Jean Davis Senior EVP I.T., E-Commerce & Operations: Wachovia Corporation
Rick Goings CEO: Tupperware Corporation
  • McColl School Facebook
  • YouTube
  • McColl School Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Latest Tweet