BusinessWoman of the Year

Celebrating exceptional businesswomen


Established in 1986, this award honors the achievements of exceptional businesswomen based on their contributions to the business, civic and cultural communities in the Charlotte region. Past recipients include: Andrea Smith, Chief Administrative Officer for Bank of America; Debra Plousha Moore, Chief Human Resources officer and executive vice president of Carolinas HealthCare System and Susan DeVore, President and CEO of Premier, Inc.

Recognized for its longstanding history and prestige, the Charlotte BusinessWoman of the Year kicks off the spring award season. With ample professional development and networking opportunities, this event reaches 300 of the area's business and thought leaders.

2017 BusinessWoman of the Year

Theresa Drew

Theresa Drew
Managing Partner, Carolinas Practice
Deloitte & Touche LLP

Theresa serves on the Board of Directors of the YMCA of Greater Charlotte and the Charlotte Chamber. She is also a member of the Charlotte Executive Leadership Council, the National Association of Corporate Directors and Women Executives. She is a Trustee of The University of North Carolina at Charlotte.Theresa Drew is the managing partner for the Carolinas practice of Deloitte, where she oversees more than 1,400 professionals and is responsible for the strategy and direction of Deloitte’s efforts and activities across North and South Carolina.  Having started her career with Deloitte, Theresa has served clients and Deloitte’s people for almost four decades and she is the only woman to lead a Big Four professional services firm in Charlotte. She serves clients in the consumer business, manufacturing and distribution industries.

Before her move to Charlotte, Theresa served for ten years as managing partner of Deloitte’s San Diego practice. Theresa began her career in Deloitte’s Phoenix practice in 1979, after graduating with highest honors from Northern Arizona University with a BS in Accountancy. 

In 2014, Leadership Charlotte presented Theresa with the Newcomer of the Year Award and business fraternity Delta Sigma Pi recognized her with their Career Achievement Award. Most recently, Theresa was honored by The Charlotte Business Journal as a 2015 Women in Business Award recipient and recognized by the North Carolina Association of CPAs with the 2016 Woman to Watch Experienced Leader Award, recognizing her as a pioneer in the advancement of women leaders.

2017 BusinessWoman of the Year Luncheon

Thursday, March 8, 2018
Register now.
Learn more about the event details.

Presented to the community by

Wells Fargo

 Previous Award Recipients

2016 Andrea B. Smith 2006 Dee Dixon 1996 Phyllis Schultz
2015 Debra Plousha Moore 2005 Christie Taylor 1995 Ruth Shaw
2014 Susan DeVore   2004 Peyton Howell 1994 Katie Tyler
2013 Lynn Good 2003 Dana Rader 1993 Linda McFarland Farthing
2012 Laura A. Schulte 2002 Krista Tillman 1992 Jill Flynn
2011 Ann Caulkins 2001 Vicki Wilson-McElreath 1991 Muriel Helms
2010 Carol Hevey 2000 Mary Tribble 1990 Patricia Rodgers
2009 Cathy Bessant 1999 Jeannie Falknor 1989 Betty Trautwein & Elaine Lyerly
2008 Jennifer Appleby 1998 Gail Brinn Wilkins 1988 Dale Halton
2007 Lauri Eberhart 1997 Carol Pontis 1987 Bonnie Widenhouse
    1986 Joan Zimmerman

Get To Know Us