Presidential Search Committee | Queens University of Charlotte

Presidential Search Committee

Each member of the Presidential Search Committee brings a distinctive perspective to the process and represents the interests of the entire Queens community.


To facilitate our search for Queens’ 21st president, the Board of Trustees appointed a Presidential Search Committee consisting of trustees, faculty, staff, students and alumni.

The committee, chaired by Trustee and Immediate Past Chair Michael Marsicano, included eight trustees and seven non-trustee members of the Queens community. They were:

  • Michael Marsicano, Chair of the Presidential Search Committee
  • Michael Tarwater, Then-Chair of the Board of Trustees
  • Debbie Bryan ’68, Trustee Emerita
  • David Darnell, Trustee Emeritus
  • TJ Lewis ’97, Trustee
  • Larry Polsky, Trustee
  • Caroline Sink, Trustee
  • Cynthia Tyson, Trustee Emerita (Trustee Elect)
  • John Bennett, Wayland H. Cato, Jr. Chair of Leadership, Professor of Business and Behavioral Science, Director of Graduate Programs, McColl School of Business
  • Saundra Penn, Associate Professor of Human Service Studies and Chair of Interprofessional Health Studies, Blair College of Health
  • Bob Whalen, Carolyn G. and Sam H. McMahon, Jr. Professor of History, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Angie Edwards, Director of the Myrta Pulliam Center for International Education
  • Darryl White, Sr. ’92, Assistant Dean of Diversity, Inclusion and Community Engagement
  • Kayley Marchena, Senior Class President
  • Chad Lewis, President, QU4Troops

Each member of the Presidential Search Committee signed a Code of Ethics that, among other things, pledged to respect the confidentiality of all candidates.

The executive search firm Storbeck/Pimentel, which specializes in higher education and has an impressive track record with presidential searches, assisted Queens with the search process.