COVID-19 Update: FALL 2020

QALERT: Latest information on COVID-19 and Fall 2020.

Learn more

Board of Trustees

A Message from the Chair

I am pleased to chair the University's Board of Trustees as we strive to further strengthen the foundation that has undergirded Queens' success since 1857—a Presbyterian heritage, an award-winning faculty, an innovative curriculum, and an assortment of creative programs. Our Board is comprised of dedicated leaders—both alumni and friends—from across the United States who stand ready to support President Davies and our outstanding faculty and staff as they endeavor to achieve excellence in all facets of the institution.  

Expanding academic offerings and programs, supporting faculty development, and creating even more rewarding and engaging experiences for our students inside and outside of the classroom are just a few of our goals. Queens makes an immeasurable impact as it enhances the intellectual, economic and cultural fabric of our city and region, and our trustees are committed to further expanding that reach. I encourage you to pay Queens a visit, either in person or by exploring our website, to learn more about what's happening on our campus, the difference our students are making in the world around them, and just how rewarding your involvement can be here at Queens. Thank you for your support.

Go, Royals!

Michael Tarwater

Michael Tarwater and his wife Ann attend the dedication of the Ann Tarwater Courtyard

Board Chair Michael Tarwater and his wife Ann attend the dedication of the Ann Tarwater Courtyard

2018-2019 Board of Trustees

Board Officers

Michael C. Tarwater
Chair, Board of Trustees
Former President and CEO
Carolinas HealthCare System
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Kathryn Winsman Black ’93
Vice Chair, Board of Trustees
Charlotte Private Sector Engagement Executive
Bank of America
Home:  Charlotte, NC 

Michael Marsicano
Immediate Past Chair, Board of Trustees
President and CEO
Foundation For The Carolinas
Home:  Charlotte, NC 

Jesse J. Cureton, Jr. MBA ’02
Secretary, Board of Trustees
Executive VP and Chief Consumer Officer
Novant Health
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Howard Bissell III
Senior Vice President and Director
The Bissell Companies
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Jan Hall Brown ’73, MBA ‘84
Former Real Estate Professional
Bissell-Hayes Realtors
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Jeffrey J. Brown (JB) MBA ‘03
Ally Financial Inc.
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Titi Cole
Head of Operations, Executive Vice President
Wells Fargo
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Kevin Collins
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Christine Louttit Crowder ‘82
Community Leader
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Anthony Fox
Parker Poe Adams and Bernstein, LLP
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Ophelia Garmon-Brown, MD
SVP, Chief Community Wellness & Health Equity Executive
Novant Health
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Christie Hunt RN, BSN ’92, MSN ‘05
Former Associate Director
National Cardiovascular Data Registry
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Julie S. Janson
Executive Vice President, External Affairs, Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary
Duke Energy
Home:  Charlotte, NC

David Jones
Former Founder, CEO, and Chairman
Peak 10
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Sandra P. Levine
Vice President and Director
The Leon Levine Foundation
Home:  Boca Raton, FL

Thomas “T.J.” Lewis ‘97
URisk Solutions
Home: Wesley Chapel, FL

Sally Wheeler Maier ‘89
Actor and Producer
Home:  New York, NY

Elizabeth W. Martin
Elizabeth Martin Consulting
Home:  Brooklyn, NY

J. Michael McGuire
Grant Thornton LLP
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Katherine Belk Morris
Board Member
The Belk Foundation
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Michael W. Murphy II ‘95
M Squared Productions LLC
Home:  New Orleans, LA

Janet Preyer Nelson ‘77
Board Member
Mary Norris Preyer Foundation
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Bailey Patrick
Managing Partner
Merrifield Patrick Vermillion LLC
Home: Charlotte, NC

Brandon D. Perry
Highmarket Properties
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Elizabeth Persson ‘00
Former Executive Vice President of Human Capital
Red Ventures
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Larry Polsky
Senior Program Officer
The Leon Levine Foundation
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Michael Rizer
Head of Community Relations
Wells Fargo
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Mary Anne "M.A." Rogers
Community Leader
Home: Charlotte, NC

Caroline Wannamaker Sink
Robinson Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A.
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Cynthia Tyson
Robert Haywood Morrison Foundation
Home: Charlotte, NC

Ruth Anne Vagt '69
Community Leader
Home:  Castine, ME

Fernando Ycaza '05, MBA '16 
Senior Vice President
Pinnacle Financial Partners
Home:  Charlotte, NC  

Ex Officio

Pamela Davies, Ph.D.
Queens University of Charlotte
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Michelle Holl Manha '94
President, Alumni Association Board
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Taylor Leigh Robinson '20
President, Student Government Association
Home:  Charlotte, NC

Life Trustees

*Irwin “Ike” Belk
Former Director
Belk Group

*Elizabeth Rivers Curry '63
Managing Director
Eagle Capital Management

*Edwin L. Jones, Jr.
Former President
J.A. Jones

*Joseph W. Grier, Jr.
Former Partner
Grier Furr & Crisp, PA

Dorothy McAulay Martin '59
Former First Lady of North Carolina
Home:  Mooresville, NC

Hugh L. McColl, Jr.
Chairman Emeritus, Board of Trustees
Chair and CEO
McColl Brothers Lockwood
Home:  Charlotte, NC

John H. Sykes '55
Chairman Emeritus
Sykes Enterprises, Inc.
Home:  Tampa, FL

Virginia Gray Vance '49
Community Leader
Home:  Clinton, SC

F. William Vandiver, Jr.
Former Vice Chair
Bank of America
Home:  Charlotte, NC


Trustees Emeriti

Name Years of Service
Judy Allison '70 2000-2008
Betty Anderson '58 1975-2003
Sadler H. Barnhardt 1985-1996
Jean T. Batten '57 1978-2005
Christine S. Beck '64 1995-2007
Paul F. Betzold 1991-1998
Crandall C. Bowles 1984-1997
Terry Broderick 2001-2005
Debbie Bryan '68  1997-2017
Byron L. Bullard 1981-1996
Parker N. Call '68  2004-2006
John P. Clancey 1996-2005
Malcolm Clayton 1988-1997
Angi M. Clinton EMBA '01 2006-2014
Michele P. Craig '67 1973-1975
Marjorie Knight Crane'90 2007-2015
Barbara M. Crutchfield 1997-2000
Rose M. Daniel '79 1991-1996
David Darnell 2010-2018
Donna Jones Dean '73 2000-2014
Stuart Dickson  1986-2002
Carla E. DuPuy '69 1990-1994
Hugh M. Durden 1991-1998
Frances DeArmon Evans '59 1990-2013
Madine H. Fails '91 1994-2003
John C. Fennebresque 1998-2001
Sarah Belk Gambrell 2005-2012
Julia E. Garraway '65 1972-1988
Betty J. Gray '51 1986-1990
Kathryn Taylor Grigg '87 2006-2014
Louise J. Guy '49 1974-1978
Claudette Brown Hall '65 2010-2012
Irvin "Hank" Hankins III 2004-2012
Johnny Harris  1985-1995
Aileen P. Hatcher '71 1998-2001
Mary W. Haught '63 1977-1981
W. Benjamin Hawfield, Jr. 2004-2012
Carson Sloan Henline '81 2009-2018
Elaine H. Henderson '75 2003-2004
Ann Hinson '72 2008-2010
William R. Holland 1991-1996
Lyttleton Rich Hollowell '67 2006-2014
Bejamin S. Horack 1961-1998
Ruth E. Hunter '42 1972-1995
Benjamin P. Jenkins III 2001-2013
Helen B. Jones 1972-1976
Lee Keesler 2008-2011
Sean Kelly '93 2002-2010
 Moira Quinn Klein '77  2006-2008
Judy Moore Leonard '67 1996-2012
Cathy Parks Loevner '71 2012-2016
Vi Alexander Lyles '73 1998-2009
Wilkes D. Macaulay 1978-1985
Susan C. Mains '71 1996-2000
Kitty M. McEaddy '65 2004-2012
Ward McKeithen 1974-2012
Sam McMahon, Jr. '54 1988-2004
Sue C. Moore '64 1993-1998
Caroline L. Myers '55 1975-2005
Bruce Parker 1998-2006
Bailey W. Patrick 2008-2016
Keith M. Pension '67 1996-2012
Martha C. Player '83 2002-2003
David L. Pope 2006-2014
Myrta J. Pulliam '69 2001-2013, 2014-2018
Dee Ray '92 1993-2007
Tom Reddin 2007-2015
John H. Robison 1972-1992
Mary Anne "M.A." Rogers 2009-2017
Arthur Ross 1980-1996
Sue F. Ross '61 1982-1998
David Singer 2012-2016
Brent Trexler 2006-2014
Cynthia Tyson 2009-2017
Jo DeWitt Wilson 1999-2011
Robert Wren 1994-2002
Terry Young 1986-2004
Manuel Zapata 2008-2015
Joan H. Zimmerman 1981-1985


Get To Know Us