Facebook icon Board of Trustees | Queens University of Charlotte

Board of Trustees

A Message from the Chair

Jeff Brown, Chair of the Queens University of Charlotte Board of Trustees.

Jeff Brown MBA '03, Chair of the Queens University of Charlotte Board of Trustees

As an alumnus of Queens University of Charlotte, it is a true honor for me to serve as Chair of its Board of Trustees. Our Board is comprised of a diverse group of dedicated business, civic, and community leaders from across the United States who stand ready to support President Daniel Lugo and our outstanding faculty and staff who are committed to excellence and to promoting life-long learning among our students, alumni and greater Charlotte community. Since 1857, Queens has built upon a strong foundation that continues to drive its success—a Presbyterian heritage, an award-winning faculty, and an innovative curriculum that includes a wide array of creative and unique programs. Queens’ picturesque campus is located in one of the most exciting cities in the U.S., making it attractive to the best and brightest students from around the nation and world.

Expanding relevant academic offerings and programs, supporting faculty development, and creating even more rewarding and engaging experiences for our students inside and outside of the classroom are just a few of our goals. Queens makes an immeasurable impact as it enhances the intellectual, economic and cultural fabric of our city and region, and our trustees are committed to further expanding that reach. I speak from personal experience – my Queens education has been instrumental in my success and development over the years, and the connections I’ve made and continue to make are invaluable. I encourage you to explore what's happening on our campus, the difference our students and alumni are making in the world around them, and just how exciting and rewarding your involvement can be here at Queens.

Go, Royals!

Jeff Brown (JB) MBA '03

2022-2023 Board of Trustees

Board Officers

Jeffrey J. Brown (JB) MBA ‘03
Chair, Board of Trustees
Ally Financial Inc.

Jesse J. Cureton MBA '02
Vice Chair, Board of Trustees

Christie Hunt BSN ’92, MSN ‘05
Secretary, Board of Trustees
Former Associate Director
National Cardiovascular Data Registry

Tanya Blackmon MBA '00
Community Leader

Sally Gambrell Bridgford ‘87 P’23
The Gambrell Foundation

Deborah Butler Bryan '68
Former Real Estate Professional

Titi Cole
Head of Global Operations and Fraud Prevention

Malcomb Coley
US-Central EY Private Leader and Charlotte Office Managing Partner
Ernst & Young

Jennifer DeWitt
Senior Vice President Community Relations Manager
Bank of America

Robert "Rob" Engel
Chairman of Corporate and Investment Banking
Wells Fargo

Audean H. Godehn ‘97
Community Leader

David "Oscar" Groomes
Managing Partner
Groomes Business Solutions, LLC

L. Watts Hamrick III
Co-Founder and Partner (Retired)
Pamlico Capital

Hooper Hardison
Charlotte Pipe and Foundry Company

Les Lambert
Sr. Vice President; Business Market Executive
Bank of America

Elizabeth W. Martin
Elizabeth Martin Consulting

Susan McConnell '83, MS '13
Director of Higher Education | Director of Human Resources
The Duke Endowment

Brian Natwick MBA '03
Chairman and CEO
Crescent Communities

Janet Preyer Nelson ‘77
Board Member
Mary Norris Preyer Foundation

Bailey W. Patrick, Jr.
Managing Partner
Merrifield Patrick Vermillion LLC

Brandon D. Perry
Highmarket Properties

Mark E. Reed
Managing Director
The John M. Belk Endowment

Manuel Rey
Regional President
Ameris Bank

Michael P. "Mike" Rizer
Executive Director of Corporate Affairs
Ally Financial, Inc.

Mary Anne "M.A." Boldrick Rogers
Community Leader

Robert "Bob" Salvin
Founder and CEO
Salvin Dental Specialties

Brian D. Savoy
EVP, Chief Strategy and Commercial Officer
Duke Energy

Caroline Wannamaker Sink
Robinson Bradshaw

Andrea Smith
Former Chief Administrative Officer
Bank of America

Maureen A. Swick
Sr. Vice President and System Nurse Executive (Retired)
Atrium Health

Margrethe "Margi" Vagell
Senior Vice President and General Merchandise Manager

Derek Wang
Founder and CEO

Reginald "Reggie" Willis MBA '03
Chief Diversity Officer
Ally Financial

Fernando R. Ycaza '05, MBA '16 
Senior Vice President
Director of Healthcare Banking for Ameris Bank

Ex Officio

Daniel G. Lugo, J.D.
Queens University of Charlotte

Ericka Ellis-Stewart '96
President, Alumni Association Board

Lance Sotelo '23
President, Student Government Association

Life Trustees

Dorothy McAulay Martin '59
Former First Lady of North Carolina

Hugh L. McColl, Jr.
Chairman Emeritus, Board of Trustees
Chair and CEO
McColl Brothers Lockwood

Sandra P. Levine
Vice President and Director
The Leon Levine Foundation

John H. Sykes '55
Chairman Emeritus
Sykes Enterprises, Inc.

F. William Vandiver, Jr.
Former Vice Chair
Bank of America

Trustees Emeriti

Name Years of Service
Judy Allison '70 2000-2008
Betty Anderson '58 1975-2003
Sadler H. Barnhardt 1985-1996
Jean T. Batten '57 1978-2005
Christine S. Beck '64 1995-2007
Paul F. Betzold 1991-1998
Howard Bissell 2012-2020
Kathryn Black 2000-2012, 2013-2020
Crandall C. Bowles 1984-1997
Terry Broderick 2001-2005
Jan Hall Brown '73, MBA '84 2013-2021
Parker N. Call '68  2004-2006
John P. Clancey 1996-2005
Angi M. Clinton MBA '01 2006-2014
Kevin Collins  2011-2019
Michele P. Craig '67 1973-1975
Marjorie Knight Crane'90 2007-2015
Christine Louttit Crowder ‘82 2013-2021
Barbara M. Crutchfield 1997-2000
David Darnell 2010-2018, 2019-2021
Donna Jones Dean '73 2000-2014
Stuart Dickson  1986-2002
Carla E. DuPuy '69 1990-1994
Hugh M. Durden 1991-1998
Carlos Evans 2013-2019
Frances DeArmon Evans '59 1990-2013
Madine H. Fails '91 1994-2003
John C. Fennebresque 1998-2001
Anthony Fox 2012-2020
Julia E. Garraway '65 1972-1988
Kathryn Taylor Grigg '87 2006-2014
Louise J. Guy '49 1974-1978
Claudette Brown Hall '65 2010-2012
Irvin "Hank" Hankins III 2004-2012
Johnny Harris  1985-1995
Aileen P. Hatcher '71 1998-2001
Mary W. Haught '63 1977-1981
W. Benjamin Hawfield, Jr. 2004-2012
Carson Sloan Henline '81 2009-2018
Elaine H. Henderson '75 2003-2004
Ann Hinson '72 2008-2010
Lyttleton Rich Hollowell '67 2006-2014
Benjamin P. Jenkins III 2001-2013
David Jones 2014-2022
Lee Keesler 2008-2011
Sean Kelly '93 2002-2010
Moira Quinn Klein '77  2006-2008
Judy Moore Leonard '67 1996-2012
T.J. Lewis ‘97 2005-2013, 2014-2022
Cathy Parks Loevner '71 2012-2016
Vi Alexander Lyles '73 1998-2009
Susan C. Mains '71 1996-2000
Michael Marsicano 2006-2019
Kitty M. McEaddy '65 2004-2012
J. Michael "Mike" McGuire 2013-2021
Ward McKeithen 1974-2012
Sam McMahon, Jr. '54 1988-2004
Katherine "Katie" Belk Morris 2013-2021
Sue C. Moore '64 1993-1998
Michael W. Murphy II ‘95 2013-2021
Caroline L. Myers '55 1975-2005
Bruce Parker 1998-2006
Keith M. Pension '67 1996-2012
Elizabeth Persson ‘00 2014-2022
Martha C. Player '83 2002-2003
Larry Polsky 2013-2021
David L. Pope 2006-2014
Myrta J. Pulliam '69 2001-2013, 2014-2018
Dee Ray '92 1993-2007
Tom Reddin 2007-2015
Arthur Ross 1980-1996
Sue F. Ross '61 1982-1998
Ed Shelton 1992-2000
David Singer 2012-2016
Michael Tarwater 2010-2021
Brent Trexler 2006-2014
Cynthia Haldenby Tyson 2009-2017, 2018-2022
Ruth Anne Vagt '69 2011-2019
Jo DeWitt Wilson 1999-2011
Robert Wren 1994-2002
Manuel Zapata 2008-2015
Joan H. Zimmerman 1981-1985

Board Liaison

Ginger Marr
Executive Director of Presidential Relations
704-337-2444 | marrg@queens.edu

Get To Know Us